kim N kim

Hello.

Kim here. Yup, just me. This weekend I am enjoying a visit with my cousins in Vienna, VA (just outside of DC) while Steven is in New Jersey playing a couple gigs with Sloan River Project and making us rich in Atlantic City. This is the first time in 4 months that we’ve spent more than a few hours apart. Weird.

I wasn’t sure how it was going to be. A part of me was saying “what?? No Steven?? What am I going to do with myself??” while another part was saying “YES! ME TIME! IT’S ALL ABOUT ME!” Well… the reality of it is somewhere in between. I am definitely enjoying spending time with my cousins, Trish and Neil, and their adorable ball of light, Aislin. I am also re-learning how much I value a little bit of solitude before I go to bed and when I wake up in the morning.

On the other hand I must say that kimNkim is not nearly as much fun as steveNkim. A little time apart makes me really appreciate how well we work together and the company we keep. I am looking forward to picking Steven up in Jersey tomorrow and celebrating with an expensive night out on the town because he hit the jackpot in AC. In the unlikely circumstances that that doesn’t happen however, I would also be perfectly happy with a 4 hour drive in good ol’ Lucia, ending up in Coventry CT where we can reunite with our friends at Fred’s Brickhouse Cafe for the Monday night open mic that we frequented during our “staying at the lake” days.

Sometimes a little distance is a big blessing. It has certainly refueled my gratitude and appreciation for what Steven and I have and the life we are living. It’s so easy to take things for granted when we get into a routine.

I invite you all to do a little experiment. Break your routine. Do something completely different just for the hell of it and see what happens. It could be something as little as eating something new for breakfast or taking a different route to work, or as big as moving into a van and living on the road. If you feel so inclined, leave a comment and let me know how it goes.

Happy routine-breaking  =)

-Kim

Leave a Reply

